Get Creative…make a pizza!

Let me preface this post with an explanation…

I am in the trenches!  I am knee deep in papers…6 pages of Gauguin’s ‘Day of the Gods’, 8 pages of dementia and veganism, diatonic scales, thirds, and Rites of Spring, societal roles and women in management, seismic graphs and world wide disasters.  I have no time for creativity!!!!  Aargh!  On the days I’m not actually on the campus, my butt is glued to this chair cranking out 4 papers with APA reference pages before my October 12 deadline…not too mention i have mid-term exams that week as well.

 I don’t get up except to make a snack or pee. That being said, by dinner time I’m SO EXCITED to get up and cook!  I stretch it out as long as I can and relish in the process of cooking with love(and drinking wine for a whole hour), because as soon as it’s over…..back to the chair . ugh.

Needless to say, the next few posts will be covering my only creative outlet that i have time for these days…..

*******************************************************

Eatchur Veggies Pizza…or…Barely Any Cheese Pizza

I don’t really like pizza. EXCEPT FOR CAMPISIS’ Vegetarian. I fell in love with the Vegetable Tart at Cafe Express, but it has a pesto sauce and comes in a tart shell so it’s not really a pizza…I guess. I’ll do that copycat recipe for y’all this autumn, but as a pizza…cause I’m weird like that.

Here’s a pizza that I like and works for the whole family, carnivores included. 

Read ahead. You’ll need to steam potatoes and marinate scallions. Recipe makes two medium pizzas.

Kelly’s Quick Spicy Pizza Sauce (because the commercial stuff is just too sweet)

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Half of one sweet onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons capers
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/4  teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon Italian Herb seasoning
  • 2   14.5 oz cans of Petite Cut diced tomatoes undrained

In a medium pot, saute the onion and garlic ’til softened. Add the rest, bring to boil, cover and simmer 20.

 

After 20, let sauce sit in a strainer to drain off most of the water.  You may have to help it out with a fork.

When it’s drained, give it a quick buzz in a blender to smooth it out, or use a hand blender directly in the pot.

 

Toppings (because vegetarians get tired of just cheese)

  • 3 boiling potatoes, sliced and pre steamed, pat dry, salt/pepper them
  • some marinated olives,marinated baby onions, artichoke hearts, and peppers or peppercinis..hit the olive bar in the deli, chop ’em up
  • a scallion thinly sliced and marinated in rice vinegar for at least an hour
  • herbed feta, 2 containers
  • a few grape tomatoes (not cherry), sliced into thirds.  Tedious but worth it.
  • a handful of button mushrooms or baby bellas, sliced
  • whatever else sounds good…asparagus tops, eggplant, grilled onions

 

When all the toppings are ready, start the crusts.

Pizza Crust: make a homemade one if you prefer, but I use two boxes of Jiffy Pizza Crusts plus a little snipped rosemary and roll both of them out cracker thin.  Follow the instructions on the boxes…add water, wait 5, knead, roll out.

I cook them one at a time on a preheated pizza stone with a little cornmeal.

Cover raw crust with half of the sauce (or less), add half the toppings and then bake them at 450 for about 20 minutes, and then add the feta when it’s done baking.

 

.

Don’t forget a salad and the wine!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

