ArT for yourself and for others

.

.

Butterflies Butterflies Butterflies!

I love fun, quick little projects that satiate my creative surges, but that don’t consume a week and cost a pretty penny.  Moreover, I love a project that is for someone else-  a gift, a donation, whatever. If you do as well, this is perfect for you.

While perusing my usual artsy blogs to see what the ladies were up to, I learned about The Butterfly Project at the Holocaust Museum in Houston  http://www.hmh.org/ed_butterfly1.shtml .  HMH “is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors’ legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, we teach the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy”.

And, “in an effort to remember the 1,500,000 children that died in the Holocaust, HMH is collecting 1.5 million handmade butterflies”.

1,500,000 butterflies!!! We’d better get some friends to help.

The butterflies will eventually comprise a breath-taking exhibition, currently scheduled for Spring 2013, for all to remember.

I bet it will be fabulous, and I hope to get down to Houston to see it in person next spring or summer!

The parameters are pretty simple: 8×10, no glitter or food like macaroni. 

Mail or take your butterflies to: 
            Holocaust Museum Houston
            Butterfly Project
            Education Department
            5401 Caroline St.
            Houston, TX 77004
            USA 

.

Send me pictures of your Flutterby!

  I’ll post a gallery this winter.

.

 

2 Comments

Filed under make it or fake it, peace, hope, or luv

2 responses to “ArT for yourself and for others

  1. Beautiful butterflies…beautiful sentiment. I’m going to make a note to do this with my Kinders and send theirs in, thank you for the info! Also, just wanted to let you know that when I post in a bit your blog is going to get a little shout out…I think my readers would enjoy what you’ve got going on over here! 🙂

    • Oh thank you so very much! I just popped over to your blog and saw the shout out. So kind of you. I am going to return the favor next week. Glad you mentioned Chemically Inclined as well, love her stuff. Have a great weekend and take care of yourself…no more bruises or someone is going to report abuse! 🙂

Leave a Reply

