Little orphans find a home

.

.

We all have that sad little spot in our jewelry boxes…earrings without a match, bracelets that won’t stay clasped, and orphaned necklace charms without a necklace all waiting to be repaired…a new chance…a home.  Here’s an easy quick fix to get them all done at the same time.

Git-er-done ladies! 

.

.

If you don’t already have a long chain, check Michael’s, they’re about $3.  They have the small jump rings and clasp that you’ll need as well.

Scrounge up a two sided ribbon or scrap fabric. The one I wove through the chain is from a shirt that had an empire waist tie thingy.

So that you don’t ruin your fingernails, get a pair of small needle nose pliers to pry open the jump rings.

Darice Jewelry Designer Jump Rings 10mm Brass Nickel Plate 72pc

Cut your chain to length.  I used the entire 30 inches. Weave your ribbon or fabric though the chain tying off with little double knots near the ends. Depending on the size of the chain’s links, you may need to use a large needle.  

Using the jump rings, add your baubles keeping them evenly spaced, but not too perfect. To open the jump rings, pull one side towards you and the other side away from you.

Like this… 

Add your clasp and a bow if you like.

Voila!

.

.

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under DIY, make it or fake it

12 responses to “Little orphans find a home

  1. Tracy

    I’m totally inspired! Going, looking….now!

  2. That is a great idea!!! I have quite a few pairs of broken earrings and charms from necklaces that I just haven’t gotten around to repairing yet. Thanks for the idea!

  3. How cute is that! What a fabulous idea. Not to mention, you could totally sell that on Etsy. I have many strays around here. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. That is very neat. I like it. I also like the food you posted and the typewriter immediately reminded me of the typewriter ribbon smell. 🙂 Heh. 🙂

  5. Okay you make that look easy…I’ll have to add that to my to-do list! 🙂

  6. K Hutchinson

    Totally love this…so charming…tells a story 🙂

  7. What an idea?!!! This is really awesome! Totally loved the typewriter and the record posts too. My dad had a crazy collection of records too. Now it’s all gone cos we kids never gave it a 2nd look. So no “hand-me-down” there :P. Also, thankyou for stopping by my space and for your lovely comment. Do try the tiramisu n let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

