Chick Flicks, Chocolate, and Mundane Mondays

My son turned 17 on the 5th and still after all of his 17 years he’s making great (random) observations.  But this was really awesomely random.

So we’re cruising the aisles at Blockbuster Video and chatting about what we’re all in the mood to watch. Son always wants gory stuff, Hubbers wants cerebral but funny, and I want heartwarming.  The word ‘heartwarming’ just makes Son’s skin crawl. So he’s says,

 “Mom, you can’t get any movies with a white background and little pictures of the actors on the cover.”

“Huh?’ , I say.

He says, “I’ll watch anything you choose as long as it doesn’t have the white background and little pictures.”

Check it out!  Did you even realize that most heartwarming chick flick covers are white and have little pictures of the actors?

 .

Who would’ve ever made such a random observation? Clever, he is.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ChOcOlAtE RoLL ! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s an easy little dessert that has been a family favorite for four generations. My son requested it for his birthday.

The wafers absorb the whipped cream and become soft and cakey. The wafers are either on the cookie aisle, or with the baking supplies, or near the hot fudge and chocolate syrups.

Here’s what you’ll need: 2  boxes of Famous Chocolate wafers, a quart of heavy cream, 4 tablespoons sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 9 x 13 pan.  (The recipe is on the box)

Depending on the size of your largest mixing bowl, you may want to cut the recipe in half and do two separate batches of the whipped cream,

Make whipped cream first: with mixer on high whip the cream and sugar to stiff peaks.  Fold in vanilla. Spread a teaspoon of cream onto each wafer and create three logs in the pan. Reserve some of the cream to fill the two valleys and ice the logs like a regular cake.

Chill at least 8 hours

 CUT LOGS ON THE DIAGONAL WHEN SERVING

.

.

.

.

.

.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ MaRiAcHi~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And since it looks like it’s going to be another mediocre, mundane Monday. 

Here’s a mentionable melodic memory that’ll make you MeRRy!  Be mesmerized by multi-talented mariachi men…

7 Comments

Filed under Food, mUsings

7 responses to “Chick Flicks, Chocolate, and Mundane Mondays

  1. Thanks for subscribing to my blog! I LOVE your title “Why’d I come in here?”. You know…I say that to myself at least once a day.

  2. And here I thought I was the only one with a 17 yo who made random observations that are powerfully insightful. Thanks for following http://www.popgoestheclassroom.com and if you ever want to guest blog let me know.

  3. I’d say your son is pretty darn smart…I’ve never noticed that either! So what movie did you end up watching? Anything good?

  4. 🙂 I didn’t just visit…I subscribed! (even better right?!) Fun blog!

Leave a Reply

