Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. -Colton

You’ve seen her paintings and merchandise everywhere. Kim Parker’s big freestyle garden close ups.

Bright happy colors. Loose. Sunny.

Here is her “August Garden”  below

So pretty isn’t it?

Here’s more of her work if you’re interested…..

http://www.art.com/gallery/id–a7056/kim-parker-posters.htm?ui=E72D9B49C01A4DF9ABA7F8920CE3C53D

I adore her style and wish I had thought of it…but on a black background, a little moonlight perhaps.

I painted my own sunny loose close up..

a DIY Kim Parker

It was so much fun to do! This is a perfect example of my category “make it or fake it”. Often times I fall in love with very expensive things and have to employ my artsy-where-with-all to make my own fake. Like dress designers right after a royal wedding, I get right to work, pull an all nighter, and present my look-alike the next day.  My garden has bird silhouettes and fewer flowers, but I love it just the same.

Next, Artemisia Gentileschi’s Judith Beheading Holofernes….some day. 

Should probably get a better brush.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, make it or fake it

Leave a Reply

