Pickled Peaches or Spiced Peaches

 

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Don’t think dill pickle, vinegar, or even ‘bread and butter’. 

Think cloves and cinnamon,  think autumn, think summer turning into fall. Sugar!  Think slightly warm peach cobbler with a side of vanilla ice cream.

Back in  2008 I came across a post on Allrecipes.com that was requesting a recipe for pickled peaches. Lo and behold I happen to have one!  Don’t you think that’s so random? I mean, who has this recipe lying around? It was hidden in the back of my recipe box written in my Nana’s precious crumpledy handwriting.  Anyway, I replied to her post and posted the recipe that day as BlueRowze.  (that was back when anyone could post anything on allrecipes.com)

Honestly, I had never made them before i posted it….or after I posted it…. until last week! I chickened out and didn’t do the entire recipe though.  I didn’t process in the hot water bath and officially “can” them.  I figured they wouldn’t last a week anyway, so why not just use Tupperware and scarf ’em right away? Right? 

 My ever-self-reliant-can-grow-anything-good-to-know-when-the-apocalypse-happens-and-you-can’t-find-Kevin-Costner sister-in-law made a marvelous batch of muscadine jelly from the grapes on the family farm. Now, some people THINK they’ve had good home made jelly, but I’m sorry to tell you that, unless you know my ever-self-reliant-can-grow-anything-good-to-know-when-the- apocalypse-happens-and-you-can’t-find-Kevin-Costner sister-in-law, you haven’t had good jelly.  Period. I wanted to make a batch and give the prettiest ones to her as a thank you. But alas, she was out-of-town and I had to eat her share. I know this sounds greedy, but honestly, I just assumed she’d be at the family shin-dig and so I made them without checking first and since I probably won’t see her for a few more months….I ate them.

I put this off for many summers and finally got my act together.  I bought wide-mouth Kerr jars and hit Whole Foods for good clingstone peaches.  I left them on the counter in their brown paper bag for three days until they were ripe and perfect. I blanched and peeled, blanched and peeled. I boiled and stirred, boiled and stirred.

It was sooo worth it.  Just for the memories alone.

Thanks Nana.

 Here’s the link to Allrecipes.com with better pictures. And if you Google it, a few people have pasted it in to their blogs…which is cool with me.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/nanas-southern-pickled-peaches/detail.aspx

Ingredients

  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons whole cloves
  • 4 pounds fresh clingstone peaches, blanched and peeled
  • 5 (3 inch) cinnamon sticks
 Directions
  1. Combine the sugar, vinegar and water in a large pot, and bring to a boil. Boil for 5 minutes. Press one or two cloves into each peach, and place into the boiling syrup. Boil for 20 minutes, or until peaches are tender.
  2. Spoon peaches into sterile jars and top with liquid to 1/2 inch from the rim. Put one cinnamon stick into each jar. Wipe the rims with a clean dry cloth, and seal with lids and rings. Process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes to seal, or consult times recommended by your local extension.
4 Comments

Filed under Food, Humor

4 responses to “Pickled Peaches or Spiced Peaches

  1. Lynda Lou

    Ok, so I love this recipe.
    I want to go to this Peach Orchard. You pick peaches, they also have other fruits and vegetables. Would you go with me and Bean?

  2. Lynda Lou

    I think so, I’ll get all the information and send it on! I am trying to get Sharon to go also. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

